As I am now in week 4 of my second semester, I have attended approximately 20 hours of my TESOL module. What I like about this module is that we learn something new each week and i am enjoying it so far.

One of the most important things I have learned from this module is that the English language can be quite complex. Although I am enjoying this module I must admit, I am finding it quite challenging. Before I started this module I was under the impression that I knew mostly everything about the English language. Naturally, as a native speaker one would assume they knew it all but in actual fact, this was far from the truth.

The word used to describe the structure of words in a sentence is Syntax. Before now, I hadn’t thought about the order of words in a sentence until we were analyzing sentence structure. (Ignorance is bliss!)For example, when describing a house, we say “the big red house”, ‘big’ is the noun and ‘red’ is the adjective.

I think that the noun coming before the adjective is something that all native English speakers are aware of subconsciously, but one would forget that this is a basic rule non-native English speakers must learn.

I can only imagine how confusing this would be to someone who is learning English as a second language, especially if the sentence structure in their first language doesn’t follow the same format. One language that does follow the same format is Spanish.

For example, ‘un perro negro’ meaning, the black dog. Notice how the adjective (negro) comes after the noun (perro).

This rule doesn’t change in many other languages but as I said before, this wasn’t something I had thought about before we analysed it in class. Now, it is definitely something I will be conscious of when teaching English.

Image Source: Wikimedia Commons

