One week has passed since we did our presentation and I would say I’m pretty happy with how it all went. We worked well together as a group and as individuals. I personally am happy with the way I delivered the presentation and the amount of work I put into it. Initially, I wasn’t over the moon but then again, I am my own biggest critic.

Anyway, moving on from that, one of the things we have been continuously learning over the past couple of weeks is phonetics.  Phonetics were something I could remember learning before, and I knew I had heard the word before, but nevertheless couldn’t actually recall what they were.

According to the Oxford English dictionary, Phonetics are “The study and classification of speech sounds, esp. with regard to the physical aspects of their production; the branch of linguistics that deals with this”. In simpler terms, phonetics is the term used to describe the certain sounds we make when pronouncing letters. As you can see in the chart above, there are symbols for different sounds. Each week we learn a new symbol and practice the sound it signifies orally.

Learning these phonetics will definitely help us if we teach in the future. We can teach our students each symbol and it will definitely help them with their pronunciation.

Image Source: Wikimedia Commons

